As a thousand-year-old monarchy, Morocco has opted for a democratic political system marked by separation and balance of powers. The Head of Government, elected through legislative elections held every five years, conducts the government policy under the authority of the King, who presides over the Council of Ministers. This balance of power has made Morocco a haven of stability and resilience in a profoundly changing environment.

A stable country

His Majesty King Mohammed VI is the twenty-third monarch of the Alaouite dynasty.

“Morocco is a democratic, social parliamentary constitutional monarchy. The Kingdom’s constitutional system is based on the separation, balance and cooperation of powers, as well as on citizen and participatory democracy, the principles of good governance and a correlation between responsibility and accountability.”
Article 1, Constitution of 2011

“The King, Head of State, his Supreme Representative, Symbol of the unity of the Nation, Guarantor of the permanence and continuity of the State and Supreme Arbitrator between its institutions, shall ensure respect for the Constitution, the proper functioning of constitutional institutions, the protection of the democratic choice and the rights and freedoms of citizens and communities, and respect for the Kingdom’s international commitments.”
Article 42, Constitution of 2011

The executive branch

The King appoints the Head of Government following legislative elections; He also appoints the ministers and secretaries of state proposed by the Head of Government. The government exercises executive power.

The Legislative Branch

Parliament exercises legislative power. It is composed of two chambers, the House of Representatives and the House of Councillors, whose members derive their mandate from the nation. As in all parliamentary systems, legislation is proposed either by the head of government or by members of Parliament.

The Judiciary Branch

The 2011 Constitution enshrined the independence of the judiciary branch, in particular through the promulgation of the law on the transfer of powers from the government authority in charge of justice to the King’s Prosecutor General at the Court of Cassation.

Advanced regionalization


Morocco encompasses 12 administrative regions. Each region is characterized by its historical heritage, its unique culture, its landscapes, its climate, its varied flora and fauna and its traditions.


Morocco has adopted a system of decentralized and devolved regional governance. The Constitution of 1 July 2011 states that the “territorial organization of the Kingdom is decentralized, based on advanced regionalization.” This system aims to transfer management powers from the central government to the regions, in a gradual and perfectly managed framework.